CompUSA website now hosted by Tigerdirect
After giving me a tour of the site of CompUSA, looking for a bargain because it is already in liquidation, I found it suspiciously similar to the website of Tigerdirect, then I decided to check out where is hosted the CompUSA website, and oh! surprise, it is in range of IPs that belong to Tigerdirect.
Look what I got:
volkan68@volkan68-desktop:~$ nslookup www.compusa.com
Server: 64.52.192.98
Address: 64.52.192.98#53
Non-authoritative answer:
Name: www.compusa.com
Address: 199.181.77.62
volkan68@volkan68-desktop:~$ whois 199.181.77.62
OrgName: TigerDirect
OrgID: TIGERD-1
Address: 3329 chapell blvd.
City: Durham
StateProv: NC
PostalCode: 27707
Country: US
NetRange: 199.181.77.0 - 199.181.78.255
CIDR: 199.181.77.0/24, 199.181.78.0/24
NetName: TIGER
NetHandle: NET-199-181-77-0-1
Parent: NET-199-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Assignment
NameServer: MARCOPOLO.TIGERDIRECT.COM
NameServer: DNS2.TIGERDIRECT.COM
Comment:
RegDate: 1994-07-21
Updated: 2001-10-04
RTechHandle: AP-ORG-ARIN
RTechName: Amato, Peter
RTechPhone: +1-305-228-3390
RTechEmail: pamato@tigerdirect.com
# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2008-01-14 19:07
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN’s WHOIS database.
If somebody knows what is the story behind this, please let us know. Tigetdirect bought the CompUSA domain name or CompUSA is using Tigerdirect as a ASP for the virtual shop.


